Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Mijee, my favorite Korean Giants fan

Minji, my favorite Korean Giants fan

This evening’s post wont be too long on words, i.e., I have a great internet connection and I plan on taking advantage of it. Consequently, I am posting quite a few pictures. However, my first one deserves a more detailed explanation. I indicated on the Flap blog (where “Orange and Black Flappers” discuss all things San Francisco Giants 24/7) prior to this trip starting that I would attempt to locate a Giants fan in each country I am visiting on my RTW trip. Minji is my first fan identified.

I was walking the Snout Trail in Picton and she essentially showed up on the beach portion of the trail. Minji didn’t really know what I was talking about when I was jumping up and down and acting like a crazed American, yelling, “I FOUND A GIANTS FAN! OH MY GOD, YOU CAN’T WRITE THIS STUFF UP IN HOLLYWOOD! WOO HOO!” Now in the interest of full disclosure, Minji likes American stuff, such as baseball hats . . . Nevertheless, I think she qualifies as a fan and therefore I bestow upon her all rights and benefits that a Giants fan is given at birth. This also completes 1/12 of my quest (if you include layovers) to identify and photograph San Francisco Giants Fans in each country I visit. Go Giants!

IMG_1162

Minji was a good sport and let me take quite a few pictures of her 🙂

IMG_1155

Island I spied in Picton harbor while walking the Snout trail

The jungle canopy was complete on this part of the Snout trail in Picton

The jungle canopy was complete on this part of the Snout trail in Picton

Ferry I used to cross from North island to South Island bringing more people and cars to Picton dock

Ferry I used to cross from North island to South Island bringing more people and cars to Picton dock

Snout trail beach cove I ended up sunbathing in (I tried swimming in the water, but it was cooooold!

Snout trail beach cove I ended up sunbathing in. I tried swimming in the water, but it was too damn cold!

Me on the pedestrian walkway before beginning my hike on the Snout trail

Me on the pedestrian walkway before beginning my hike on the Snout trail

Highest point on Snout trail

Highest point on Snout trail

Crystal clear water, but bbbbbrrrrrrrrrrrrrr . . .

Crystal clear water, but bbbbbrrrrrrrrrrrrrr . . .

Modernistic clock and bell tower in city of Nelson

Modernistic clock and bell tower in city of Nelson

The picture above and the ones following were taken earlier today. I got an early start this morning and headed to Nelson, Golden Bay and Abel Tasman National Park. Quite an eventful trip, as I met someone from California, Bill, who was visiting Birgitta, his girlfriend. I also picked up hitchhikers, – two lovely sisters, Rachel and Leah. Don’t tell my Mom, but I have picked up hitchhikers twice on this trip. In Taupo, a Maori man; and also a back packer in Palmerston North. I know, I know . . . I could get robbed doing those sort of things, perhaps worse. In any event, you meet the most interesting people this way. Besides, Rachel and Leah didn’t fit the criminal MO type.  Where’s my wallet? OH OH!

Regarding Bill, we hit it off immediately. He overheard me talking to this young lady about my trip and joined the conversation. Anywho, he ended up inviting me to lunch and I accepted. Birgitta met us at the restaurant they previously had agreed to meet at. After we ate lunch, I pardoned myself and left. I still had 2-3 hours of driving and I had to get back on the road.

Beautiful park in Nelson

Beautiful park in Nelson

Rachel and Leah, a pair of charming sisters

Rachel and Leah, a pair of charming sisters

Island off of Nelson's coast

Island off of Nelson’s coast

Bob took this picture of me before we had lunch at a park in Nelson

Bill took this picture of me before we had lunch at a park in Nelson

These ducks actually entered a women's clothes store

These ducks actually entered a women’s clothes store

More window shopping . . . Hilarious

More window shopping . . . Hilarious

I am not certain what this Nelson building is used for, but it was quite impressive, so I took the shot - I should have asked before I left

I am not certain what this Nelson building is used for, but it was quite impressive, so I took the shot – I should have asked before I left

Scenic view of Abel Tasman National Park

Scenic view of Abel Tasman National Park

Another shot of Abel Tasman National Park

Another shot of Abel Tasman National Park

