Tags

, ,

Close-up of Coal Creek Falls.

Close-up of Coal Creek Falls.

So, I keep thinking that the next place I go to in New Zealand wont be as nice as the last place I visited. Wrong! To date, that “doomer” expectation has been unequivocally false. Frankly, each new place I go to trumps the last place I went to; or, is equally as stunning or unique. I am running out of adjectives to describe what I am seeing in this country. I guess “Wow!” will have to suffice, because I think I am wearing out “beautiful.”ย  ๐Ÿ™‚

Paparoa National Park coastal road has breathtaking sights like this.

Paparoa National Park coastal road has breathtaking sights like this.

I was quite ambitious when I woke up this morning – I wanted to visit 3 places, including Coal Creek Falls, Punakaiki Pancake Rocks and Blowhole, and Truman Track (trail). Mission accomplished. With a rental car, it was quite easy to visit each of the aforementioned sights. Additionally, they all fall into a sort of a linear line, i.e., they are located in the heart of the Paparoa National Park and on the coastal road. This is an added bonus, since this has been voted one of the Top Ten scenic drives in the World by Lonely Planet.ย  I have driven on California’s Big Sur Highway 1 drive and in my opinion, this New Zealand coastal drive is equal to the stunning views you see in Big Sur.

Another beach I am claiming, since no one else wants it.

Another beach I am claiming, since no one else wants it.

Another beautiful beach scene. Ha. These young Canadian women (I apologize - I forgot their names) took my picture, so I asked if I could take their's as well. :-)

Another beautiful beach scene. Ha. These young Canadian women (I apologize – I forgot their names) took my picture, so I asked if I could take their’s as well. ๐Ÿ™‚

Punakaiki.

Punakaiki.

"Pancake" rock formation.

“Pancake” rock formation.

Punakaiki.

Punakaiki.

Punakaiki limestone eroded by wind and water.

Punakaiki limestone eroded by wind and water.

Punakaiki (I took over 50 pictures at various stops along this track, both on the beach and from afar). So many to choose from because they are all stunning.

Punakaiki (I took over 50 pictures at various stops along this track, both on the beach and from afar). So many to choose from because they are all stunning.

Excellent example of the "pancake" rocks.

Excellent example of the “pancake” rocks.

Fog rolling in over the mountains which rise above Punakaiki Pancake Rocks and Blowhole. At Coal Creek Falls, where I started my day, it was quite sunny out (due to being closer inland).

Fog rolling in over the mountains which rise above Punakaiki Pancake Rocks and Blowhole. At Coal Creek Falls, where I started my day, it was quite sunny out (due to being closer inland).

No explanation necessary.

No explanation necessary.

Pic one of the Canadian women took of me.

Pic one of the Canadian women took of me.

"Bridge" like formation.

“Bridge” like formation.

Another perspective of Coal Creek Falls.

Another perspective of Coal Creek Falls.

This looks like a Kiwi, but according to someone I spoke to, it is a "wild chicken." I spied this little guy at the Truman Track .

This looks like a Kiwi, but according to someone I spoke to, it is a “wild chicken.” I spied this little guy at the Truman Track.

Historical Miners Union Building, est. 1908 I believe. I found this in the town of Runanga.

Historical Miners Union Building, est. 1908 I believe. I found this in the town of Runanga.

Conor, a teenager I met on the Coal Creek Falls trail, took this photo. Thanks Conor!

Conor, a teenager I met on the Coal Creek Falls trail, took this photo. Thanks Conor!

I may be in New Zealand, but this represents my heart being with Cindy in Denver. :-)

I may be in New Zealand, but this represents my heart being with Cindy in Denver. ๐Ÿ™‚

Unusual hole in the limestone walk way to the beach.

Unusual hole in the limestone walk way to the beach.

