Tags

, , , , , ,

Me in front of the famous Sydney Opera House.

Me in front of the famous Sydney Opera House.

OK, I think my internet connection is rocking and rolling now. We shall see. I left out quite a bit about my first couple of days in Australia. I mentioned that the first day was exhausting due to the long wait at the Christchurch, New Zealand Airport; and then the wasted time spent at the rental car kiosk at the Sydney Airport, which resulted in me taking an expensive and long taxi ride to the Sydney Holiday Park I was staying at for the next few days.

Museum I visited (Opera and Ballet). Quite a change from the "crime" museums I had been going to, e.g., Justice and Police Museum, and Convicts Barracks Museum.

Museum I visited (50 years of the Sydney Ballet). Quite a change from the “crime” museums I had been going to, e.g., Justice and Police Museum, and Convicts Barracks Museum.

The 2nd day was even more exhausting, but that was my fault. During the transfer from the train to the bus, I mistakenly got on the wrong train, which went to some ‘burb named Bankstown. Arrrggghhh! Wrong town Steve. I was supposed to get on a train to Blacktown, then transfer to a bus, which would then take me to the place I was staying at.

IMG_1924-1314318371

Actual jail at the Justice and Police Museum. Umm, I swear I didn’t get arrested again.

I had left Sydney’s city center at approximately 5pm and should have been “home” by 6:15pm max. I didn’t realize my mistake until around 7pm. I screwed up so bad, that I had to transfer to another train at Lidicombe (SP?), which was the only train route that was going to Blacktown. It was around 8pm by the time I rolled into Blacktown and I still had a bus to catch to where I was staying. Oh, did I mention I had a walk of approximately one mile from where the bus would drop me off? I hadn’t eaten since 1pm and when the bus dropped me off near a Thai noodle joint and Coles grocery store, I decided to get a quick bowl of Thai noodles and then hit the grocery store for some fruit and other snacks.

In my previous blog post, I mentioned Adrian and Cameron, and their mother, Tracy. My battery was going dead on my tablet, so I wasn’t able to explain why I was thanking them in the blog post. Essentially, I was lost and I asked these two kids (Adrian and Cameron) where the Sydney Gateway Holiday Park was. They had a smartphone and using the google map app., they gave me directions to the Park. While discussing this, my RTW trip came up. They were quite curious about this and so I told them a bit about my trip thus far and my itinerary going forward. After a few minutes, I left them and began my walk home. Frankly, I only had a general idea where I was staying. It was night, so I was “winging it,” based upon what I could recall from the day before and what Adrian and Cameron told me a few minutes earlier. The only thing I was thinking about was getting home, taking a shower, and going to sleep.

Then I heard a horn beep. I turned around and at the light, I could barely make out someone waving toward me and yelling what I thought was, “Come here.” I walked toward the car and it turned out to be Adrian and Cameron, with their mom, Tracy (whom I hadn’t met yet). After introductions, they drove me to the Park. I told Tracy about my blog and said I would mention their kindness in my blog. I said my goodbyes and stumbled into my room, where I took a shower and went to bed.

The following pictures encompass my first few days in Sydney. Enjoy. 🙂

Aboriginal "original" music. Actually, these guys were quite good. :-)

Aboriginal “original” music. Actually, these guys were quite good. 🙂

IMG_1905

The “dock” were alleged criminals stood trial.

Sydney City skyline viewed from the Harbor Quy.

Sydney City skyline viewed from the Harbor Quy.

Top of the Sydney Harbor Bridge.

Top of the Sydney Harbor Bridge.

I had lunch inside the Opera House. Each evening they show musical and comedy revues, as well as plays inside the playhouse. I have tickets for a show tomorrow.

I had lunch inside the Opera House. Each evening they show musical and comedy revues, as well as plays inside the playhouse. I have tickets for a show tomorrow.

IMG_1849

Another obligatory shot of the Harbor Bridge.

IMG_1791

These two women pointed out the furry butt in a tree that turned out to be a Wombat. They also gave me a map of the city, with all the landmarks (so I wasn’t wandering aimlessly. Ha.). They were on their way to a cruise ship, destination New Zealand.

IMG_1796

St. Mary’s Cathedral. I went inside this church and was a bit surprised at how hot it was inside (the ceiling is made of wood – so that’s probably why).

IMG_1787

I posted a picture of this bird the other day, but this one is better. No idea what species, but I saw quite a few at Hyde Park.

IMG_1794

Another view of St. Mary’s Cathedral.

Sydney Harbor viewed from the Opera House.

Sydney Harbor viewed from the Opera House.

Customs House.

Customs House.

Famous Aussie knighted by the Queen. Sorry, I saw so many statues and it's hard to know who is who.

Famous Aussie knighted by the Queen. Sorry, I saw so many statues and it’s hard to know who is who.

One more pic of the Cathedral.

One more pic of the Cathedral.

IMG_1903

I love this oil painting that was in the Crime and Justice Museum.

While waiting for my hostel room and writing this blog post, I asked Rachael if she would take this picture.

While waiting for my hostel room and writing this blog post, I asked Rachael if she would take this picture.

IMG_1945

Rachael has been exploring Australia for 5 months. She is from Switzerland. Her next stop is New Zealand.

Me doing my standard pose.

Me doing my standard pose.

Rachael reading (until she got distracted by me taking pictures of her. Grin.).

Rachael reading (until she got distracted by me taking pictures of her. Grin.).

