Tags

,

image

The Athens Archaeologica Museum.

Yesterday, I decided to visit the National Archaeological Museum Of Athens and as is my habit, I like to take my time when I visit a museum. Since I don’t like to be rushed, I am more likely to be alone, then with a partner. I’m that guy that has to read most of the art and sculture captions. In my view, half the fun is finding out the background information on the stuff you are looking at.

So, why do I mention this?  Well, I purchased my museum ticket at around 1pm and fast forward to 2:45pm, a museum staff member is telling me that the museum will close in 15 minutes and I will have to hurry along. What the f#%&@? I haven’t even completed 2/3 of the first floor galleries and they’re closing the museum in 15 minutes? Hilarious. Umm, not quite  .  .  .  At least it wasn’t funny at the time. I went to the ticket office and asked to speak with a manager, who spoke English. A woman appeared a few minutes later and asked if she could help me. I calmly explained the situation to her and she said no problem, asking me, “Would you be able to return tomorrow or the next day? The admission for you would be free.”  I told her, “Yes” and thanked her. She wrote out a voucher and gave it to me and I left the museum. 

The museum building, a protected monument in itself, was founded in 1866. In its galleries can be traced the long evolution of ancient Greek culture. The museum’s collections – Prehistoric, Sculpture, Vases, Minor Arts, Bronze, and Egyptian Antiquities – are amongst the most comprehensive in the world and contain finds dating from the 7th millennium BC to the 5th century AD. Here are some of the photos I took during my visit. If I return to the museum, I will post other photos for that visit as well. Enjoy!

image

image

image

image

Death masks.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Aphrodite.

image

Stelai or cemetary statuary . Notice the shaking of the hands, i.e., saying good bye to the departed.

image

image

image

Arm of Zeus.

image

Caligula.

image

image

image

image

Emperor Claudious.

image

Athena.

image

image

Poseidon or Zeus (probably the latter).

image

image

image

From the Archaic period (most famous Kouroi).

image

image

