Tags

, , , , ,

image

Jen and I at lunch.

image

I keep forgetting to take photos of what I am having for lunch and dinner. Jen and I had the same thing, pork with gyro bread (except she had salad and I had potatoes).

Many years ago, I use to play the “blame game” where I pointed a finger at some one, some place, or some thing, never noticing the 3 fingers pointed back at me. Consequently, I was mostly in victim mode, where I felt I was owed something for nothing. At around 30 or so, I began to wake up to the fact that the universe doesn’t owe me a thing and I better get my ass in gear and figure out how things do work on this ball or I was going to be stuck in that victimhood role forever. What’s all this have to do with this post? Well, yesterday I had my wallet stolen and although I am still processing many feelings, including anger, I am grateful for everything I have in my life. I am especially happy and grateful that I am living a life that allows me to be in Athens, Greece, where I have visited the Parthenon, SCUBA dived the Mediterranean Sea, and yes, even had my wallet pick-pocketted on an Athens Metro Train. As the title of this post suggests, life really comes down to those two choices, right? I can go with the flow and recognize that stuff occasionally happens and learn to accept it; or, I can spend negative energy on anger and resentment, which doesn’t resolve a damn thing and only ends up with me being frustrated. Yeah, I wish this hadn’t happened. My wish and 5 dollars might buy a cafe latte at Starbucks, but that’s it.

image

image

Street musician.

These are some of the feelings I am still processing: 1. Obviously, the thief or thieves needed the money (130 Euros) more than I did, so I hope I was able to help them out in this Greek economic crisis; 2. I hope the police are right about the thieves here taking the cash and tossing the credit cards, driver’s license, personal info, etc.; 3. Karma is a bitch – I know – so beware when the circle comes around, i.e., it bites hard and exponentially worse; and, 4. I’m grateful that I only lost my wallet to these people and not my life. Anywho, enough about my wallet, as I had another wonderful day in Greece today.

This morning at breakfast, I met a new friend, Jen, so I spent a delightful day with her. She had never visited the Acropolis and I offered to show it to her, as well as helping her book a trip to 3 Greek islands she was interested in seeing on her vacation. Consequently, after visiting the Acropolis and having lunch, we went on a quest to find this travel agency in Athens that had a fabulous deal we heard about while at the Parthenon. Mission accomplished, as she is on her way tomorrow morning.

image

Evil metro train approaching. Ha.

image

Watch your wallet, especially when these trains are crowded.

I have one more day here, before I travel to Rome on Sunday. Take care, Stevenย  ๐Ÿ™‚

