Tags

, , , ,

image

That guy in the white wool cassock is the Pope.

This morning I decided to head over to the Vatican and see if it was worthwhile to get in line for the Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museum. Unbeknownst to me, something much better was going to happen to me that I will remember for the rest of my life. I saw the Pope.

image

First pass of the Pope.

I knew something was up because the crowds were exponentially greater this morning and all the seats in the square were taken. I immediately asked a police officer if the Pope was going to make an appearance and he confirmed what I suspected. The crowds outside the fixed fencing of the St Peter Square perimeter were as great as the crowds inside. However, I spied a lady on a flight of steps to the left of the Square and immediately ran over there. A perfect place to watch the Pope and get some photos. It was only 100-150 feet away, but my lousy tablet camera makes it look 3 times that far. Regardless, I saw the Pope and these photos document my experience. I have no idea if kinda, sorta knowing the Pope will enhance my chances of getting into heaven, but I will certainly bring it up to St. Peter at the pearly gates. 🙂 

image

Another photo of Pope Francis.

image

Stoked about seeing the Pope!

