Tags

, , , ,

image

Today, I went to the Opera Santa Maria Del Fiore Museum and saw another famous Michelangelo statue, The Florence Pieta. He has done a few versions of this scene, which depicts the Virgin Mary cradling Jesus Christ after he has been crucified. Nicodemus and Mary Magdalene are also part of this statue.  Yesterday at the Accademia Gallery, I saw another version of this Pieta – again by Michelangelo – which wasn’t nearly as complete as this one. Frankly, this work by Michelangelo was awe-inspiring and comes “alive.” You sense the anguish, grief, love, and acceptance that emanates from this statue. The museum also had some of Donatello’s sculptures, including his magnificent Magdalene Penitent.

image

image

image

I also visited the Giotto Campanile Bell Tower and climbed what seemed like a gazillion stairs to the top of the tower, but was only 443 stairs. Still a lot and I didn’t feel bad about huffin’ and puffin’ as I made my way to the top. If I recall correctly, the tower has 4 levels, where you have magnificent outdoor perimeter views at each level – the top level of course, being the most stunning. The stairs weren’t built for thousands of visitors each day to climb back and forth, i.e., they aren’t nearly wide enough, nor are the stair treads and risers OSHA approved (LOL). In short, between rubbing and bumping against people going up or down; you also have to watch your step or you’re going to fall quite aways down the staircase before stopping. Ha.

image

image

image

image

The last place I visited was the Michelangelo Piazza, which is situated on a hill and is quite a hike. Once you get to the top, it offers the best views of Florence and the Tuscany hills. I mentioned in a previous post that I saw Michelangelo’s David at the Accademia Museum. There are many copies of this famous statue, including one at the Michelangelo Piazza. After seeing the real one, you don’t have to be an expert to discern this isn’t the real McCoy. While on top of the hill, I visited two churches that were quite beautiful in their own right. There are also a couple of cemetaries in this area as well. By the way, on the way to the Michelangelo Piazza, I passed the world famous Uffizi Museum (where I took a few photos of the building) and the Arno river, which had a bridge with houses. How cool!

image

image

image

image

image

These are the photos I took today. I even included a couple of “before” and “after” dinner photos for you gastronomical folks (my Mom and Snarkk) wondering if I am getting my 3 squares per day. If you have a question about a photo, just ask – I’ll be happy to respond back. Ciao!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

