Tags

, , ,

image

A Donatello.

In a couple of days, I take the train to Paris, France. I was delayed a day because I screwed up not booking a seat earlier. I should have done that while at the train station during my trip to Lucca. Live and learn. Dumb sh*t. So last night, I concentrated on booking a hotel in the “City of Lights.” It took awhile, but I finally found a place that wasn’t flea bitten, nor made me a pauper. Frankly, hotels are quite expensive in Paris, but if you do some research, you can find a good deal. That being said, I wont know for sure until I get there, right? Righto Stevo! What else? Laundry is what else. I had to do two loads first thing this morning. This is essentially my entire wardrobe. LOL. Anywho, the laundromat is located only a couple of hundred meters away, so thank God for little miracles like that.

After I had breakfast, I visited the Museo di Palazzo Vecchio (or Palace Vecchio Museum). A couple of days ago, I also visited another museum called the Nazionale Del Bargello, but didn’t have time to post about it. Consequently, I am including a few photos of that visit here. The Palazzo Vecchio was originally called the Palazzo de Signoria; and the Bargello museum was formerly a barracks and prison.  Both have excellent art collections and I enjoyed visiting them.

The Palazzo Vecchio still is being used occasionally as a city hall, with the mayor’s office located inside and the city council having regular meetings there. I can think of worse things than being a city employee reporting to work at a palace. Ha. Imagine the daily inspiration you would receive by being amongst this magnificent art collection. Not too many headaches working at this city hall, eh? By the by, a big shout to Joe and Mandy from Fresno, California. I met them today at the Palazzo Vecchio museum (photo below). They are in Italy for their 5 year wedding anniversary celebration. Congratulations! Also, they are big San Francisco Giants fans and to a “Flapper” like myself, that’s important stuff. Grin. 🙂

image

Joe and Mandy. Happy 5th anniversary!

Without further adieu (see, I told ya I know French), here are the photos from my two museum visits. There are quite a lot of photos here and most have captions. To retain your interest, I have tried to be funny (not always my strong suit). In any event, there were so many interesting art pieces in these two museums, it was hard to decide what to include and to leave out. .  .  .  Ciao (I know Italian too)!

image

This is called Genius Of Victory by Michelangelo.

image

I think someone is cheating in this fight. Hmm.

image

Yes, definitely unfair tactics.

This unbelievably large hall is called Salone dei Cinquecento.

This unbelievably large hall is called Salone dei Cinquecento.

Death mask of Danti.

Death mask of Danti (with my shadow showing in the glass. Creepy.).

This is a Verrochhio called Putto With Dolphin. It was located in the first courtyard, but a copy is there now.

This is a Verrochhio called Putto With Dolphin. It was located in the first courtyard, but a copy is there now.

20130503_1301162111477853

Herucles killing Caccus by Bandenelli.

Herucles killing Caccus by Bandenelli.

Map room. The globe is ruined due to too many restoration cleanings. However,, the maps along each of the four walls were fascinating and gives a historical perspective of what 15 century Italians knew of the world.

Map room. The globe is ruined due to too many restoration cleanings. However,, the maps along each of the four walls were fascinating and gives a historical perspective of what 15 century Italians knew of the world.

Decorative colunm in the first courtyard.

Decorative colunm in the first courtyard.

20130503_131725856631925

20130503_1235081039038454

Donatello relief sculpture.

Donatello Madonna and Christ relief sculpture.

20130503_124749-392431367

20130503_1245551113198507

It’s amazing how large these paintings are. The scale is stunning.

Could you imagine me being introduced to Grand Duke Medici? No? Me neither. Ha.

Could you imagine me being introduced to Grand Duke Medici? No? Me neither. Ha.

20130503_122144-1889057331

Writing desk that was quite beautiful.

Writing desk that was quite beautiful.

20130503_125254-925903920

Another ceiling painted by Sherwin Williams. Yeah, right.

Another ceiling painted by Sherwin Williams. Yeah, right.

Unfortunately, I couldn't get the Great Room behind me to focus adequately.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t get the Great Room behind me to focus adequately.

Part of my heritage baby. Map of Armenia in the Map Room. I forgot to take a photo of Spain (the other half of my heritage).

Part of my heritage baby. Map of Armenia in the Map Room. I forgot to take a photo of Spain (the other half of my heritage).

Macchiavelli (sp?), who was the Secretary to the Medici royal court.

Macchiavelli (sp?), who was the Secretary to the Medici royal court.

20130503_1344181109745143

This is titled Putto (child) by Michelangelo. However, I am not certain it is the one and only Michelangelo or someone else with a similar name. See the next photo of the caption card and if you know different, let me know.

This is titled Putto (child) by Michelangelo. However, I am not certain it is the one and only Michelangelo or someone else with a similar name. See the next photo of the caption card and if you know different, let me know.

You tell me.

You tell me.

The following photos are from the Bargello Museum:

Courtyard of Bargello Museum. For a former barracks and prison, this is pretty fancy.

Courtyard of Bargello Museum. For a former barracks and prison, this is pretty fancy.

20130501_113058-853178991

20130503_1147192072160868

A more feminine David.

A more feminine David by Donatello.

A Michelangelo.

20130501_1229571041093037

20130501_124351980830151

Michelangelo's Bacchus.

Michelangelo’s Bacchus.

Closeup of Bacchus. Mikey sure did have some talent, huh?

Closeup of Bacchus. Mikey sure did have some talent, huh?

Another closeup of Michelangelo's Bacchus.

Another closeup of Michelangelo’s Bacchus.

