Tags

, ,

Notre Dame Cathedral. This cathedral is so massive and there are quite a few obstructions where it's very difficult to get a photograph of the entire cathedral. This is about the best I could do with my tablet.

Notre Dame Cathedral. This cathedral is so massive and there are quite a few obstructions where it’s very difficult to get a photograph of the entire cathedral. This is about the best I could do with my tablet.

My visit to Notre Dame Cathedral occurred yesterday. I was amazed at how fast I got into the cathedral. The church is quite imposing and although, I am more partial to the Italian cathedrals I saw in Rome and Florence – which are a bit more stylish and grand – Notre Dame is an impressive Cathedral nonetheless. Moreover, it is massively large.

Afterwards, I went over to a tent area near the Cathedral, where older women and men were selling fresh baked pastries, French bread, and sandwiches. I had a ham and brie sandwich (on french bread) and a couple of the pastries. Delicious! I was flabbergasted that the prices were actually quite reasonable. I suspect that these were church parishioners trying to raise money for the Notre Dame Cathedral. There must have been a couple of hundred people inside the large tent buying the baked goods.

I’ve also included a couple of photos of a buckwheat Galette (crepe) I had at the Galette Cafe earlier today, where I met a delightful waitress and her boyfriend manager/owner. Laura is from Playa Del Carmen, Mexico and we were talking about Mexico, and the Yucatan peninsula (which I love because of the outstanding SCUBA diving and the wonderful people that live in the area). She is helping her boyfriend, Antoine, run the cafe. The crepe that I had was a sunnyside egg, with ham and cheese. They only use gluten free buckwheat and other organic produce and fruit. I also had a salad there.

I did quite a bit more than the aforementioned. However, I will do separate posts for those places I visited yesterday and today.  Without giving anything away – I will tell you that I was hanging out mostly with Angie, although Carmen met up with us later for dinner (yesterday).  I also visited the d’Orsay (yesterday) and Louvre (today) museums; along with taking a cab with Angie to the cemetary (today) where we wanted to visit the grave sites of Jim Morrison, Oscar Wilde, Frederick Chopin, and Edith Piaff. With a bit of luck and an inaccurate map we were able to find all of the graves. Au-Revoir!

So big!

So big!

One of the 3 front entrances into the cathedral.

One of the 3 front entrances into the cathedral.

Inside, near the rear of the cathedral.

Inside, near the rear of the cathedral.

Stained glass window.

Stained glass window.

20130510_131627-358706745

Candle chandelier that is no longer being used (perhaps due to the fire danger?), but was on display inside.

Candle chandelier that is no longer being used (perhaps due to the fire danger?), but was on display inside.

20130510_1323121911205425

One of the unbelievably large columns interspersed around the cathedral.

One of the unbelievably large columns interspersed around the cathedral.

Bake sale going on and boy, was it delicious!

Bake sale going on and boy, was it delicious!

Yummy!

Yummy!

My galette (crepe) and salad that I had today at lunch. Both were excellent!

My galette (crepe) and salad that I had today at lunch. Both were excellent!

Laura, the waitress who served me. Her and I were chatting for about 10 minutes before her restaurant got really busy. It must be a popular place because they were packed. Her boyfriend, Antoine owns and manages this stylish restaurant. Their facebook address is facebook.com/galettecafefamily

Laura, the waitress who served me. Her and I were chatting for about 10 minutes before her restaurant got really busy. It must be a popular place because they were packed. Her boyfriend, Antoine owns and manages this stylish restaurant. Their facebook address is facebook.com/galettecafefamily

