Tags

, , , ,

Not certain, but I think I took this on the Seattle to Seoul, Korea leg of my flight.

Not certain, but I think I took this on the Seoul, Korea to Siem Reap leg of my flight. I was way in the back and I had an entire row to myself.

A very short post about my flight from Denver to Siem Reap (via Seattle and Seoul, Korea). Not too much to tell, except all flights were on time and very comfortable, especially the Seoul, Korea to Siem Reap, Cambodia leg. The jet was half empty (even though it may not look like it in the photo above) and I had an entire row to lay down and sleep. Which I did, for almost 3.5 hours of the 4 hour flight. Nice. 

It’s always great to have a smooth trip, without delays or other snafus. I try to remind myself to have minimal expectations. Too many people get caught up in all their plans and are easily disappointed when they do not come to pass. This is especially so when you travel. In any event, I was grateful that all of my flights were without incident and I was able to sleep through a large part of the trip.

This is Jin, a Japanese friend I met on my flight from Seattle to Seoul.

This is Jin, a Japanese friend I met on my flight from Seattle to Seoul. The lady sitting next to him slept the entire flight. Wow! Both Jin and I were jealous of her having this ability to tune out. Grin.

Although I didn’t sleep as much on the longer Seattle to Seoul leg of the flight, I did meet a very nice young man from Japan, named Jin. He is a 19 year old exchange student whom had just completed a year living and attending school in Seattle. He was going back to Osaka, Japan, where his family lives. Him and I were cracking jokes about the “Amazonian” Korean airline attendants (more below). Wonderful young man! I hope I didn’t corrupt him too much. Grin.

Siem Reap International Airport.

Siem Reap International Airport.

So, I have a couple of observations . . . Korean Airlines must have a flight attendant height requirement of 5’7″ or higher, as my two flights with them provided unequivocal evidence that they cornered the market on former Korean female basketball players. All of these ladies were statuesque “Amazonian” beauties. In short, I will definitely fly with Korean airlines again. Smile. Additionally, there must be some Korean Airline policy that their flight attendants must run to the galley when something is missing on the food cart (or for any mundane request or reason). Let’s just say service was unbelievably prompt and courteous. No way, no how, does Southwest Airlines, much less the mediocre United come close to the service Korean Airlines provides. Well done!

First meal in Cambodia (hotel).

Waiting for my first meal in Cambodia (hotel).

I watched 2 movies while in flight, Captain America, which was surprisingly good; and XMen IXV (the last one that came out) was unsurprisingly very bad. So much for the inflight entertainment. Meh . . .

Sea bass salad. Delicious!

Sea bass salad. Delicious!

When I arrived in Siem Reap International Airport, I was impressed with the efficiency of Immigration and Customs. The airport itself was small and quite nice. As most of you know, I travel light, a 38 liter back pack and a small fanny pack which converts to a day pack. Rocking this gear means I get in and out of airports fast. It also means that my hands are free to get money from an ATM; and chase after would be pick pockets, albeit, my success rate is 0 % to date (i.e., read my blog post about having my wallet stolen in Greece. Ha.).

Rey, who is the manager at the hotel front desk. Very knowledgeable young man who speaks excellent English.

Loeuy Tola, who is the manager at the hotel front desk. Very knowledgeable young man who speaks excellent English. He represents the Moon Boutique Hotel quite well!

Garden view from Moon Boutique hotel.

Garden view from Moon Boutique hotel during monsoon rain.

Same view minus monsoon rains. Ha!

Same view minus monsoon rains. Ha!

This is Heng, who runs the Kava Coffee Shop in Siem Reap. On my first full day in Cambodia, I went into town to explore (and buy a bathing suit . . . I forgot mine. Duh!). She was very helpful regarding the downtown area.

This is Heng, who runs the Kava Coffee Shop in Siem Reap. On my first full day in Cambodia, I went into town to explore (and buy a bathing suit . . . I forgot mine. Duh!). She was very helpful regarding the downtown area.

Buddha, along with "lucky" gold money tree. All business establishments in S.E. Asia will have a Buddha (temple) placed in their establishment for the workers to pray. They usually do this before the start of their work day.

Buddha, along with “lucky” gold money tree. All business establishments in S.E. Asia will have a Buddha (temple) placed in their establishment for the workers to pray. They usually do this before the start of their work day.

So, having whipped through Immigration and Customs for my Visa, I exited the airport and looked at the various taxi, tuk tuk, and limousine drivers holding passenger signs. I saw one guy with a sign that said, “Stephen Joseph” and figured that’s close enough. I asked the young gentleman if he was from the Moon Boutique Hotel and he said, “yes.” He then introduced himself as Sok (2 days later, I would hire him as my tuk tuk driver to the Angor Wat temples). I also experienced my first REAL monsoon rain, although I guess the one in Chiang Mai, Thailand was a gully washer as well. The ones here – I already have experienced 3 of them – just seem to last longer and are more “violent” in their intensity. Hard to describe or compare to anything I’ve seen in the U.S.

Thus begins my new adventure in Cambodia . . .

 

 

