Tags

, ,

The entrance to the falls.

The entrance to the falls.

DSCN6301

The Kuang Si Waterfalls.

I just arrived in Singapore, Singapore (a city/country a la Monaco) and I am about a dozen or more travel stories behind schedule. Wait! I don’t have a stinkin’ schedule. HAHAHA . . . In reality, not everything can be attributed to my laziness, as the WiFi connections I have had lately, have been piss poor to say the least. Although, I have jumped around a bit in describing my South East Asia experiences, I am going to finish up on Laos with this post. Consequently, this will probably be my last post about Cambodia and Laos – which I visited at the beginning of this epic trip (love the hyperbole, eh?) across the far east.

On the way to Kuang Si Falls.

On the way to Kuang Si Falls. Not really sure what is growing here. This could be poppies for all I know, as I think this is part of the Laos, Thailand, and Cambodian “Golden Triangle” opium drug producing area.

Village and entrance to waterfalls. Locals sell crafts and other souveniers to the tourists who visit the falls and bear sanctuary.

Village and entrance to waterfalls. Locals sell crafts and other souveniers to the tourists who visit the falls and bear sanctuary.

Stream flowing from the falls.

Stream flowing from the falls.

Dennis and Jennifer.

Dennis and Jennifer.

Kuang Si Falls, sometimes spelled Kuang Xi or known as Tat Kuang Si Waterfalls, is a three tier waterfall about 18 miles south of Luang Prabang, Laos. I rarely like to take structured tours, but I made an exception in this case – as the price was right and the tour operator came highly recommended. I was also fortunate to meet Dennis and Jennifer, who were visiting Laos from Hong Kong. We became fast friends during the trip to the falls. Equally important, Dennis and Jennifer offered to take photos of all of us and forward the photo file folder to me upon their return to Hong Kong. Wow! This became necessary because I forgot to bring my smart phone, which I left at my Luang Prabang bungalow. Not to worry though, because Dennis and Jennifer took some wonderful shots, quite a few of which I am posting here. Thank you very much Dennis and Jennifer!

Dennis on the bridge which crosses the main pool where the falls cascades.

Dennis on the bridge which crosses the main pool where the falls cascades.

Powerful!

Powerful!

I was soaking wet after this photo was taken from all the heavy mist.

I was soaking wet after this photo was taken from all the heavy mist.

Completely soaked here, but very, very refreshing from the mid day heat. Almost like natural "air conditioning."

As in the last photo, I was completely soaked here, but very, very refreshing from the mid day heat. Almost like natural “air conditioning.”

. . .  So I went swimming.

Since I was already wet, I went swimming.

So back to the falls . . . These waterfalls are a favorite side trip for tourists in Luang Prabang. The falls begin in shallow pools atop a steep hillside. These lead to the main falls with a 200 foot cascade. The falls are accessed via a trail to the left of the falls and stream or river. The water collects in numerous turquoise blue pools as it flows downstream. Unfortunately for us, the area incurred a major rain storm the night before and sediment from the monsoon rains made most of the pools a muddy brown color. Sigh. In any event, we still had fun swimming in the main falls pool area, although there are many pools you can swim in if you so choose. However, one pool is closed because it is a religious and sacred site utilized for Buddhist ceremonies. The numerous cascades that result are typical of what are called, “travertine” waterfalls.

Dennis was soaked to from standing on the bridge and decided to go in for a dip too. Jennifer watched our stuff on shore.

Dennis was soaked too, from standing on the bridge and decided to go in for a dip too. Jennifer decided not to go in and instead, watched our stuff on shore.

Quite refreshing from the heat.

Quite refreshing from the heat.

Ahhhhhhhh . . .

Ahhhhhhhh . . .

Another pool with less turbulent water.

Another pool with less turbulent water.

Great photo of Jennifer!

Great photo of Jennifer!

By the way, the Ā locals charge a very inexpensive nominal admission fee to visit the site. The entire area is well maintained with walkways and bridges to guide the visitor. Along the way, you also pass a bear sanctuary, which was quite a treat because the fencing, coupled with the extroverted and gregarious bears, allow you to get a close up view of them.Ā These are the rest of the photos from my day at Kuang Si Falls. Enjoy! Ā šŸ™‚

Not certain this water wheel was working properly.

Loved this old water wheel.Ā 

Cuddly black bear.

Cuddly black bear.

This sanctuary was fairly large and was set in natural surroundings.

This sanctuary was fairly large and was set in natural surroundings.

Probably wonderinf what's for lunch?

Probably wonderinf what’s for lunch?

Mountain jungle tree canopy.

Mountain jungle tree canopy.

Another shot of the mountain jungle.

Another shot of the mountain jungle.

Amazing how these structures are built with only natural materials  (grass and bamboo) available nearby.

Amazing how these structures are built with only natural materials (grass, bamboo, etc.) available nearby.

All thumbs up!

All thumbs up!

DSCN6324

Me mugging with the bears.

Contemplating the world situation. NOT!

Contemplating the world situation. NOT!

Dennis took a photo of my contact info, i.e., this is how I was able to receive the photos he took that day. Again, thank you my friend.

Dennis took a photo of my contact info, i.e., this is how I was able to receive the photos he took that day. Again, thank you my friend.